Table Food and Sippy Cups…

Wyatt has struggled with food since we tried baby food around 4-6 months.  He has really bad gag reflexes and just never adjusted to the use of a spoon.  He has had those same reflexes with table food.  We would try it, he would get sick, we would back off for a little, then try again. 

Friday we tried again, and it worked!  Wyatt ate 8 green beans for dinner!  Then Saturday he ate more green beans, we were OVER THE MOON!  Since then we have added Gerber baby cheese ravioli, Gerber meat sticks, Gerber cheese munchies, blackberries, blueberries and waffles!  He gobbles up EVERYTHING we put in front of him.

The pediatrician said we should start transitioning Wyatt to a sippy cup at his 9 month appointment.  I would give him his formula in a sippy cup and he couldn’t get it out.  He would get frustrated, cry, and then I would give him his bottle.  My friend Tarah recommended the Nuby sippy cups, they have a silicone no-drip spout.  I figured – What the heck, I’ll give it a try and picked one up.  Sunday evening I mixed his formula in his new sippy cup, handed it to him, and waited for him to throw it back at me.  Imagine my SHOCK and DISMAY when he downed the whole thing.  I was caught off guard!  Monday I gave him the sippy cup again, testing to make sure it was not a fluke, and he once again, drank every drop!  Monday afternoon we ran out and bought a bunch of the Nuby sippy cups!  Starting today (Tuesday), Wyatt will be bottle free! 

Our little bitty baby is growing up WAY too fast!!!

Here are some pictures of my sweet boy eating “big boy” food…

Gimme Gimme Gimme...

Into my mouth they go!

Clapping for a job well done!

Breakfast in my high chair

 

**Notice the first pictures I didn’t have a plastic pocket bib on!  I learned a VERY important Mommy lesson that day – When Wyatt feeds himself he needs a pocket bib on FOR SURE!**

Leave a Reply

