Catch Up Post…

So here it is…  My giant Catch Up Post…  (Warning – This is a LOONG post, so I have broken it down by dates, to make it just a little easier to handle…)

First Weekend Home:  August 29 – 30

Saturday, Paul’s sister Lara came to visit, and meet her newest nephew!  Lara is a phenomenal photographer, so she volunteered to take some pictures of Wyatt for us!  I was really excited because I wanted infant pictures taken of Wyatt, and I knew that she would do an incredible job (and save us from having to pay someone to take them for us!).  After spending some time visiting, Lara got down to business and started snapping pictures!  She set up a mini studio in the hearth room of our house; here are some of the pictures that she took/were taken while she was visiting…

Wyatt - 4 days old

Wyatt - 4 days old

All because two people fell in love...

All because two people fell in love...

Sweet Boy

Sweet Boy

Lara and Wyatt

Lara and Wyatt

 

Being a model is super exhausting...

Being a model is super exhausting...

 Sunday, we spent the day hanging out with my Dad and Ilene, knowing they would be leaving Monday morning.  It was so wonderful to have all the family and friends around the first weekend Wyatt was home!

Week 1: August 31 – September 5

Monday my Dad and Ilene had to get back to Northern Virginia and work, so we said our goodbyes and Paul and I were left to face parenthood by ourselves!!  We had a couple of days as a family of just three, and then on Thursday, Grandma and PapPap (my Grandparents), came to visit for the weekend.  They were so excited to meet Wyatt, and Wyatt was just as excited to meet them!

Grandma and PapPap

Grandma and PapPap

Besides wanting to meet Wyatt, my grandparents came into town to keep me company while Paul went to Illinois to be a part of his sister Lara’s wedding.  Wyatt was just too young and little to make the trip, but Paul went and said everything was beautiful.

 Lara was married on Sunday, September 6th, set beneath a beautiful tree at a park.  She looked beautiful, and wed the love of her life, Chuck.  Lara and Chuck – We wish you nothing but a lifetime of happiness…

Lara and Chuck

Lara and Chuck

While Paul was out of town, my friend Tara brought her daughter Kaylee over to meet Wyatt.  She thinks Wyatt is a real live baby doll, so she LOVES being around him!!  They had a great first meeting, and I have a feeling the two of them are going to be TROUBLE when they grow up!!

Kaylee, Wyatt and I

Kaylee, Wyatt and I

Week 2: September 6 – 12

Paul came back from the wedding on the 7th, Wyatt and I were so happy to have him home!  Paul’s parents, Grandma, sister, brother in law, and nephew all came by on their way home!  My Grandma made dinner for everyone, and we all really enjoyed chatting and watching Wyatt, before they all headed home.

 Tuesday Paul headed back to work.  I was scared to be on my own with Wyatt, but we did just fine!  My grandparents headed on to New Mexico for my PapPap’s NAVY ship reunion. 

 The rest of the week was spent getting used to our new way of life.  We got into a great rhythm and things went great.

 September 11th, we had Wyatt’s 2 week check up.  He weighed in at 8lbs 12oz and was still 21in long.  We then scheduled his next appointment for 8 weeks, when he will start getting his shots!   I’m not looking forward to that, but will find a way to make due. 

 Week 3: September 13 – 19

Monday September 14, my Grandparents stopped back in to see us, on their way back home to Northern Virginia.  My PapPap’s birthday is September 16th, so on the 15th (the night before they left), we had a mini birthday celebration.  Paul made some steaks on the grill; we had corn on the cob and some Texas Toast.   I made a cake, and we all sang Happy Birthday.  I think everyone really enjoyed it, and Wyatt even dressed up for the party…

PapPap and Wyatt the Pirate

PapPap and Wyatt the Pirate

We then dressed Wyatt up in a costume Lara had bought us… I think he makes a pretty darn cute Tiger…

Daddy and Wyatt the Tiger

Daddy and Wyatt the Tiger

Week 4: September 20 – 26

Tuesday, September 22, we took our first road trip.  We headed to Jonesboro, so I could attend Susan‘s (Paul’s sister) baby shower.  Some of the ladies she works with gave her a shower for Baby #2, and I wanted to attend.  It was a fun time, and it gave Wyatt a chance to see his Grandparents, Doodah and Sweetie, and his Great-Grandma, Mom.  Everyone had a great time, and we were so happy we were able to go!

 Friday September 25, one of my best friends, Kate flew into town to meet Wyatt.  It was so special to have her come in, and meant the world to us.  We were able to spend the whole weekend together, Wyatt was such a good baby, and Kate just loved him! 

 Week 5: September 27 – October 3

Sunday September 27, I took Kate to the airport, and then stopped to see Paul at work.  It was the first time I had been to where Paul worked, and I was really excited to meet everyone.  We got to take a tour of the facility, and then had the chance to hang out in the area Paul works in.  His coworkers got to meet Wyatt, and Wyatt loved all the lights and movement around him!  He stayed really quiet, which we were all thankful for!  I can’t wait to take Wyatt back when he is a little bit older, and can understand what Daddy does at work.

Friday October 2, I had my 6 week post-partum check up.  I got a good review, and was told I could start exercising again!  I found an exercise class I can’t wait to try out, called Stroller Fit.  The whole class is done with your stroller and baby.  As soon as Wyatt has his first round of shots we are going to test it out.  Hopefully that class will help get me back into shape!  I’m hoping to get into even better shape than I was in prior to Wyatt.

Saturday October 3, I was thrilled to have one of my Mom’s best friends Lynn and her husband Tommy come and visit us!!  They were able to get a good deal on plane tickets into Nashville, and drove into Memphis to stay for the weekend.  It meant so much to me to have them here.  It was an emotional visit for Lynn and me, but it was great, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything!  Lynn and Tommy – Thank you so much for coming to see us.  We can’t wait to see you again around Christmas!!  LOVE YOU!

Wyatt, Mommy, Lynn

Wyatt, Mommy, Lynn

Week 6: October 4 – 10

Wednesday October 7, Wyatt and I headed to Jonesboro to visit with Susan, Jerry and Bowen.  Bowen’s 6th Birthday was October 9, so we wanted to take him his birthday present.  We were able to spend some time with them, and enjoyed a wonderful dinner prepared by Jerry!  It was a great visit, and we were happy to see Bowen so close to his birthday!

 Friday October 9, after a couple of delays in Charlotte, my sister Kathleen arrived to meet her nephew Wyatt!!  Wyatt got all dressed up for the occasion…

Wyatt in his Stroller

Wyatt in his Stroller

Kathleen couldn’t wait to hold him…

Kathleen and Wyatt

Kathleen and Wyatt

We spent the weekend doing lots of Memphis things.  We spent Saturday afternoon on Beale Street…

Tasty Drink...

Tasty Drink...

And visiting with the Peabody Ducks…

Family Picture (Peabody Fountain/Ducks behind us)

Family Picture (Peabody Fountain/Ducks behind us)

We had such a wonderful time with Kathleen, and can’t wait until she can come back to visit.  We also look forward to her bringing her boyfriend Sam with her (Sam – We are sorry you missed this trip!!).

Week 7: October 11 – October 17

Kathleen left on Tuesday morning, and Wyatt and I have just been relaxing and playing catch-up around the house since she left.  We have had such a busy seven weeks, we needed some time to catch up on housework, laundry, getting out fall clothes, packing away maternity clothes, and getting ready for Halloween!!

October 15th, Susan delivered our nephew Heston!  The hospital has a rule about children on the Labor and Delivery Floor, so we are waiting until they get to go home to drive to Jonesboro to meet him!  Mommy and son are doing well, and we are hoping to get to Jonesboro on Saturday October 17th

There it is, we are FINALLY caught up!  Now that this HUGE update is done, I can start with more regular updates.  I want to Thank Paul for putting Wyatt to bed tonight so that I could write this gigantic post and get it published.  It has been hanging over my head, and I feel like a weight has been lifted!  Now I can start with regular updates…

Coming soon…  Our Trip to the Pumpkin Patch (we went today, 10/16), and meeting the newest family addition, Heston! 

Leave a Reply

