It won’t be like this for long…

The song by Darius Rucker just keeps playing over and over in my head.  Talking about starting with sleepless nights, turning around and your baby is in preschool, then high school, then marrying and moving on with their life…  It keeps me going through the long nights, and reminds me constantly to savor these precious moments, because in the end, It wont be like this for long.

Wyatt is now 9 days old!  I can hardly believe it!  He is changing so much… I look at pictures from the day he was born and can barely believe that it is the same baby!  His facial features have changed soo much, and I can totally see his Daddy in him!  That makes me soo happy, he is definately a Berger Baby!! 

I guess I should start at the beginning and let you know how my little one got here…  We had our 41 week check up on Tuesday August 25, and the Dr decided that she thought it would be best to go ahead and admit me to the hospital for the pre-induction process.  I still had not started dialating, but she didn’t want to wait until Friday to induce.  So, I had about 4 hours and then we headed to the hospital to get the process started.  We took a couple minutes to take some pictures before heading to the hospital…

Before we left to have the baby!

Before we left to have the baby!

For those of you wondering, yes, I am wearing a Smokey and the Bandit TShirt!! 

We arrived at the hospital, got all checked in, and then waited.  They hooked me up to all the monitors and it showed that I was in labor, but that it was not helping with the dialation process.  So they went ahead and gave me some medicine that was supposed to help get me ready for the induction the following morning.  We decided that since nothing was going to happen that night, that Paul should go home and get a good nights sleep (we were warned it could be a looong day waiting on Baby Berger), and finish  getting the house ready for our company!  So after awhile, he went home.  My really strong contractions started around midnight, but again, no dialation.  At 5:00 am they started the pitocin (which induces labor).  Paul showed up around 7:30, and the Dr made rounds and came in to see us around 8:30.  Again, no dialation.  he said he would have the nurse continue to check on me, and would be back around lunch to check in.  Around 10:30, the nurse checked me and decided that I was about 1cm, and that should could call the Dr to come break my water.  So, the Dr came, broke my water, and then I got my epidural!  I will tell you, I admire people who can do childbirth naturally, but it was not for me!  I was in sooo much pain when my contractions would hit!  At one point Paul tried to “Shhhh” me (being supportive of course) and I told him “Do not tell me to Shhh, this hurts, just sit down!”.  He says that when he left the room so I could get my epidural, I was screaming and crying, and when he came back in I was sleeping!!  Thank goodness for that!!

After I got the epidural I spent most of the day sleeping.  At 4:30 the Dr came by for the last time before he was done for the day and was handing me over to my Dr who was on call Wednesday night.  When he came by and checked me, I was only dialated to 4cm.  He said I was progressing, and that he would let my Dr know.  Well, my nurse (who was INCREDIBLE) went ahead and called my Dr and told her what was happening and she said ” I will be there at 5:00, have her prepped for a csection”.  At that point everything happened sooo quickly!  We called our parents (Paul’s were in the hospital, mine were on the way from VA), Paul got in his scrubs, they got me prepped and numbed up and the next thing I knew I was being wheeled into the OR.  My Dr was there and was very reassuring, and at 5:25 I heard Wyatt’s cry for the first time.  It was the most incredible sound in the whole world.  Paul got to go over and see him while they were cleaning him up, and he came back over and said, “We have 10 fingers and 10 toes, we did good!”  I started crying!  He just kissed my forehead and went back over to get our son!  It was incredible to see him with Wyatt, such a special time for the three of us.  A sight I won’t soon forget! 

They got me all stiched up and wheeled me back into my room, Paul got to carry Wyatt back to the room and then hand him to me to hold!  It was soo special, holding my son for the first time! 

Wyatt checking Mommy out

Wyatt checking Mommy out

After we spent some time as a family of three, Paul went down to the waiting room where his parents, sister, brother in law, nephew, and grandma were waiting.  They got to come back and I had the honor of introducing them to Wyatt Christian.  (Side Note:  The name, Wyatt came from someone who did something very nice for me in Middle School after my Mom died that I never forgot – NOT Wyatt Earp!  Christian was Paul’s grandfather’s middle name – who passed in September 2007, it is also a big family name, and we found it fitting for the first Berger Boy grandbaby to carry on that name)  They loved the name, especially the fact that we used a family name!  Here are some pictures of Paul’s family with Wyatt…

Wyatt and his Great Grandma "Mom"

Wyatt and his Great Grandma "Mom"

Wyatt and Paul's Parents "Doodah and Sweetie"

Wyatt and Paul's Parents "Doodah and Sweetie"

Wyatt and his cousin Bowen

Wyatt and his cousin Bowen

The hospital has a rule that no one under the age of 11 is allowed back onto the floor, unless they are a sibling of the new arrival.  Since the hospital does not have a nursery, Bowen was going to be unable to see Wyatt.  Luckily we had some incredible nurses and they took Wyatt to a window so Bowen could see him!  It was soo sweet! 

After that, everyone left to give us some family time…  Here is our first Family picture:

Our Family of Three

Our Family of Three

It was pretty surreal to be in a room with Paul and Wyatt… I had dreamed about that day, but nothing compares to when it actually happens.  Or when you look over at where Wyatt is sleeping and you see this…

Wyatt and Daddy

Wyatt and Daddy

The next morning, I was able to take a shower, which made me feel soooo much better!!  Paul’s parent’s came by the hospital to check in on us, and love on Wyatt a little more before heading out of town!  They took a couple of family shots, this one is my favorite!

Family Shot

Family Shot

 After Paul’s parents left, my Dad and Ilene arrived.  They had driven half of the way on Wednesday and finished the drive Thursday.  I was just glad they were able to come!

Mommy, Wyatt, Grandaddy

Mommy, Wyatt, Grandaddy

Grandaddy, Gigi and Wyatt

Grandaddy, Gigi and Wyatt

Paul and I want to Thank our Family and Friends who came to the hospital to share this time with us, and those who came to the house in the days following us bringing Wyatt home! 

Wyatt is getting up from his nap now, so I will finishing updating later on…  For those of you who are new to the Blog – Welcome!  My goal is to update a couple times a week, so please check back often, and leave lots of comments!!

One Response to “It won’t be like this for long…”

  1. Shari Says:

    Congratulations on the new one!

    I loved seeing your family admiring your new arrival.

Leave a Reply

