I’ve got a lot o’ living to do…

And there’s no one who I’d rather do it with – than you!!

I know it’s been awhile, so this is going to be a catch up post!  Filling you in on everything that has been going on, and everything that is going to be going on!!

The weekend of June 13th, we had a huge storm hit our area, a tornado even touched down a couple miles from the house!  Trees went down, power went out, so we headed to the movies!!  (Isn’t that what everyone does when they don’t have power?)  We figured after about 3 hours of no power, that it wasn’t looking good for us to get power back that night, so we headed out to get some batteries for our camping lantern, and to go see a movie.  We decided to see the “Hangover”, if you haven’t seen it yet, make a date to see it.  It was HILARIOUS!! 

Our power stayed out all of Friday night, and most of the day on Saturday.  Luckily, we got to spend the day at the Hospital on Saturday, learning all about Labor, Delivery, and overall child care.  It was a really informative class, and I am glad that we went.  Whether Paul wants to admit it or not, I don’t think it was as miserable as he had expected!  While we were at the hospital we got a tour of the L&D floor, and got to see where everything will take place.  The floor is fabulous, the rooms are actually really nice, and everything takes place in one room.  From admittance to discharge I will be in the same room (unless a c-section is needed).  The baby will also be in the room with me (unless he has to go to the NICU)! 

Saturday afternoon we went to a 5 year olds birthday party in our neighborhood.  I was in charge of making the cake for the party… Okay, I live for this type of thing and totally volunteered myself!  The theme of his birthday party was a “splash party”, basically multiple inflatable pools, a sprinkler, etc.  Here is the cake I made to go with that theme…

Goggle Guys

Goggle Guys

I will say that these were decorated in the dark, since we didn’t have power!!  Thank goodness for a camping lantern, that after a quick trip to Walgreens for batteries, lit up half the house! 

My neighbor and good friend, Tara, has a just over two year old daughter, Kaylee.  Kaylee is obsessed with Paul!  Tara and I joke that we need to watch out for her, she could turn into a husband stealer!!  Every time Kaylee sees the Tahoe she yells “Paul”, anytime she comes over the first thing she does when she walks in the door is yell “Paul”.  Anytime she sees Paul she just cuts her eyes at him, and smiles.  At the party she just kept staring at him, we think it may have something to do with his beard… Here is a picture of her sitting on his lap, she is just so intrigued with him, it is really quite cute!!  Can’t wait to see what she thinks of Baby Boy Berger…

Paul and Kaylee

Paul and Kaylee

After we left the party we went down to the little fishing pond behind our neighborhood and did a little fishing…

Paul fishing in the pond..

Paul fishing in the pond..

Me on the dock

Me on the dock

About a year ago, Paul got a phone call from an old friend in the Navy asking if Paul would be in his wedding this year.  Paul agreed, and the weekend of the 20th we packed up the car and headed to Dothan, AL for the wedding.  We left early Friday morning and drove to Dothan, picked up Paul’s tuxedo, and headed to the hotel to shower and get ready for the rehearsal!  We headed over to the church where we met up with Josh (the groom), Jessica (the bride), and the rest of the wedding party.  They went through the ceremony, and then everyone headed to the hotel for the rehearsal dinner.  We had a really nice dinner, and found out there was an Elvis impersonator at a 50 year class reunion next door, so we headed over there to listen to Elvis!! 

Saturday we were up early and headed downstairs for the delicious breakfast buffet.  Then we went upstairs and relaxed until it was time to get ready and then head to the church.  Paul needed to be at the church by 12:45, so off we went!  I got to hang out with Josh, Paul and the guys (and a couple girlfriends) prior to the wedding.  We had fun hanging on in the choir room, and joking around.  Then it was time to get ready.  Josh wore the Navy’s dinner dress uniform, and all the guys wore white tuxes.  Everyone ended up looking really sharp…  Here are a couple pictures from Josh and Jessica’s big day!

Josh putting his medals on his jacket

Josh putting his medals on his jacket

The ring bearer

The ring bearer

Paul

Paul

Paul and I

Paul and I

The guys...

The guys...

Mr and Mrs

Mr and Mrs

The wedding and reception were over by about 6 pm so we decided to head south to Pensacola for the night!  We got to Pensacola, had dinner at Pensacola Beach, and then checked into a room on the base.  We woke up early on Sunday, and headed over to the Naval Aviation Museum to spend the morning.  We walked around the museum, caught an IMAX movie and lunch, and then headed back towards Memphis.  Since it was Father’s Day, I told Paul he could pick whatever he wanted to eat for dinner.  He decided on Burger King, so we stopped and had his first Father’s Day dinner somewhere along I55 N.  For Father’s Day, Baby Boy Berger got his Daddy some supplies for a canoeing/fishing trip he was going to take the next weekend (27th) with his friend Shane.  Paul was really excited about his gift, I think all in all it was a pretty good Father’s Day.

Since I didn’t do a special Father’s Day post, I would like to make a few comments here, and add a couple of pictures.

Daddy- I don’t know if I will ever be able to Thank You for everything you did for Kathleen, Michael and I.  I love looking through the family videos that you made into DVDs and remembering good times.  You are an incredible role model, and always pushed me to succeed.  You always encouraged me, and made me feel like anything is possible.  I am proud to be your daughter, and will love and appreciate you forever.  Thank you for always encouraging me, always loving me, always supporting me, and giving me wings to fly.  I can’t wait for my son to get to know you, and for you to have a chance to be a Grandfather!  I love you!

Brian, Daddy and I

Brian, Daddy and I

Frank – Thank you for being such an incredible role model for Paul.  He is such an amazing man, I know he will be an incredible father, and I know he is following your lead.  Thank you for welcoming me into the family, and making me feel so loved.  I can’t wait to see you with our little one, I especially can’t wait to see him drive the tractor, just like his Doodah!!  I love you and will see you soon!

Driving the tractor through town

Driving the tractor through town

To our Grandfathers, PapPap and PawPaw – We love you soo very much and are soo excited that you will be a part of our son’s life.  We can’t wait to hear you tell him the stories that you have told us.  PapPap – you better start practicing the Tippy song again, I know the baby will want to hear it!

Finally, Paul, you are such an incredible husband, best friend, and daddy-to-be.  You give me strength, you constantly encourage me, support me, and love me no matter what.  I know that this pregnancy hasn’t always been easy, or fun, yet you have always stood right beside me, long Drs appointments and all.  Our son is so lucky to have you as a Dad, and I know that I will love you more when he is here, than I ever imagined possible.  I love you, our son loves you, and we know that you will always take care of us!  Thank you for everything. 

Now you are pretty much caught up…  As you can tell we have been VERY busy, and it doesn’t appear to be slowing down anytime soon…. More to come VERY VERY SOON!!!

Leave a Reply

