I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints…

The sinners are much more fun….  :o)

(The song really has nothing to do with the post, it is just a song that I have had stuck in my head for the past couple of days…)

This post is going to cover a lot of ground… Consider yourself warned!!

I realized that I haven’t done an official post on my trip to visit my family in Northern Virginia.  I will start the post with that:

I arrived at Dulles Airport, and to my surprise my brother was there waiting with my grandparents to pick me up!  I was expecting my Grandma and PapPap to be there, but having Michael there too was a total shock, and made me very happy!!  Michael and PapPap helped me get my bags and off we went.  I woke up Wednesday morning and headed out shopping with Grandma.  We went to the outlet mall where we shopped at Carters.  Carters has some of the cutest baby clothes I have ever seen!!  We left there andheaded over to Kohl’s to see what kindof selection they had.  Grandma had a coupon that started on Thursday, so we put a pile of stuff behind the counter at customer service and planned to come back Thursday and pick them up!  We left Kohl’s and headed to BabiesRUswhere we foundsome really cute stuff to add to our already growing collection!!  After shopping I headed over to my dad’s house to see him,Ilene (my stepmom), Michael (my brother), and Brian (one of my stepbrothers).  We ordered some Chinese food, hung out, and chit-chatted.  While I was there, Brian gave me a DUKE baby outfit that he picked up at school.  It included a onesie, bib, and booties.  It was soo sweet of Brian to think of us, I love it!  It was a wonderful evening.

Thursday I slept in and hung around my grandparent’s house until it was time to head out to Kohl’s to pick up our reserved items.  We swapped a few things out, made our purchase and then headed over to get manicure/pedicures.  Kathleen (my sister) met us over there, and was soo excited to see me and my belly.  She actually screeched and then had to give my belly a kiss.  It was really sweet and meant a lot to me!  She had picked up a bunny for the baby (I have a bunny that I have had since I was about 3, and she felt my baby should have one too), and she picked up some of our favorite kids books (the Little Miss and Mr. books).  I was soo excited!!  I can’t wait to read them to my little guy.  After our exchange in the parking lot, we headed inside to get our nails done.  While we were waiting for our nails to dry, my sister started rubbing my belly, and she was the first one to feel the baby kick!!  It surprised me that she was able to feel it, as Paul hadn’t been able to yet.  After our nails were done and dried, we headed over to the Cheesecake Factory for dinner.  It was DELICIOUS!!!  Another wonderful day!

Friday I spent the afternoon with my Dad.  We met for lunch and then went to see the new Star Trek movie.  It was a wonderful way to spend the afternoon.  After the movie I went and met up with two of my mom’s best friends and their families.  Jackie and Lynn have been a part of my life as long as I can remember.  Growing up, all of us kids thought we had 3 mom’s, we were always together and they made everything soo much fun!  They have continued to be there for me as I have grown up, including being at my wedding.  It was really special to be able to hang out with them while expecting my first baby.  An interesting fact about the families, Lynn has two sons: TJ and Chris, TJ is my age, Chris my brothers age.  Jackie has 4 kids, Lauren – a year younger than me, JD my sisters age, Dean my brothers age, and then Paige who is the baby of all three families.  Jackie, Lynn and my Mom used to try to figure out ways to marry kids off to each other so we would really all become a family.  Needless to say, the plan didn’t work.  Interestingly enough, I got married November 2007, TJ got married December 2007, TJ had a baby in March, I am having a baby in August, and Lauren is getting married in October.  It’s fun that we are all growing up and moving into the next phases of our lives at around the same time…  Jackie’s whole crew, Lynn, her husband and I all went to dinner.  After Dinner TJ, his wife, and their beautiful daughter came over to Jackie’s house.  It was soo much fun having everyone together. 

Jackie, Me, Lynn

Jackie, Me, Lynn

Lauren, TJ, Me

Lauren, TJ, Me

Saturday was Michael’s 22nd Birthday!  The whole family met for lunch at Glory Day’s Bar and Grill (Michael’s choice).

LtoR- Ilene, Daddy, PapPap, Michael, Grandma, Brian, Sam

LtoR- Ilene, Daddy, PapPap, Michael, Grandma, Brian, Sam

Sam is Kathleen’s boyfriend, and Kathleen was not in the “mood” to have her picture taken so she bolted.

After wonderful lunch, which included beers, and even a Jagerbomb (Michael), we headed over to Kathleen’s apartment to eat some cake.  Daddy bought Michael a cupcake cake, which was sooo yummy.  Michael didn’t even want to wait for us to sing before he dug in…

Notice the missing cupcake in the corner...

Notice the missing cupcake in the corner...

I really wanted a chocolate one... Ended up with LOTS of icing!

I really wanted a chocolate one... Ended up with LOTS of icing!

Brian, Me, Daddy - who is pointing out the baby!

Brian, Me, Daddy - who is pointing out the baby!

I spent the rest of the day with that crazy group, and spent Saturday night at Daddy’s house.  That night Michael and I were watching a movie and he started poking my belly, apparently the baby did not like this too much and kicked him.  You should have seen Michael’s face.  A look of shock and almost horror at the fact that the baby was kicking him. 

Sunday, Kathleen, Grandma and I headed downtown to see a show at the Kennedy Center.  It was an impromptu comedy show (Shear Maddness).  It was really fun!!  Kathleen was having a good hair day, so she let me get a picture of her…

In the lobby (her best side)

In the lobby (her best side)

After the show I spent a little more time with my Dad, and then said good-bye.  Well, it was more like a “see you in August”.  I left my Dad’s and headed over to the Cheesecake Factory (yes, time #2), to meet up with my oldest and bestest friend Julie.  I had some dessert, while she ate, and we got to catch up.  It was wonderful!!  I forget how much I miss her…

Monday I hung out with my grandparents and packed my bags, preparing to head home.  I had dinner Monday night with Julie and her mom.  I just love those two ladies.  We had a wonderful dinner, and some great conversation!!  Julie’s mom even bought me a toy for the baby and gave me a gift card to Babies R Us to use towards anything we need!  It was soo nice to spend time with them, and I can’t wait for them to meet the baby in December when we come back to town!!

Tuesday morning, bright and early, I was off to the airport and on my way back to the Memphis area.  It was a WONDERFUL visit to see the family and good friends, but as Dorothy says “There is no place like home”.  The first night I was home, Paul and I were sitting on the couch and he was rubbing my belly and the baby started kicking really hard.  He finally got to feel his baby kick.  The look on his face is something I will remember forever.  It is such a magical time!!

The week I came home was Paul’s birthday which you can read about in the post below. 

Last week was very BUSY!!  One of Paul’s friends from the Navy is in the process of changing duty stations, and is driving across the country.  He decided that Memphis would be one of his stops.  So, we showed him a good time, Memphis style…  I’ll let this picture do the talking…

Paul, Dave, Matt and the Bucket of Southern Awesomeness...

Paul, Dave, Matt and the Bucket of Southern Awesomeness...

Us

Us

This past weekend we headed to Paul’s parents house.  Paul’s dad is building us a changing table for the nursery (a post dedicated to the nursery will come closer to the due date), and I wanted to check it out.  I will tell you this – It is more amazing than I could have imagined!!  I can’t wait to see it complete!!  While in town I got a chance to meet one of Paul’s high school friends, Courtney – mom to Cady Cupcake.  We had a lovely lunch and got a chance to catch up.  She is WONDERFUL, and I can’t wait for Cady and my son to become the best of friends!! 

Paul’s mom is part of a committee at Church that is working on adding some brick accents around some flower beds.  They found some people that volunteered to do the work, and Paul’s dad offered them the use of his tractor to make the work a little easier.  Over breakfast Friday Morning I asked if he had a trailer to get the tract0r to the Church, and he just kind of smiled and said “No.”  I sat there for a minute, and then asked the follow up question “Then how exactly is the tractor getting to the Church?”.  He responded “I’m going to drive it up there”.  Now, this town is smaller, but it is still a good 10-15 minute drive between the house and the Church. 

Paul and I decided that we needed to witness this, and of course, snap a couple of pictures…

Headed towards the Church

Headed towards the Church

There he goes..

There he goes..

Friday night we headed to another town with Paul’s parents to listen to some Gospel Bluegrass.  The band was really good, and are coming to our town for a regular old Bluegrass concert sometime this fall.  We might just make plans to go see them again!

We headed back home on Saturday to meet up with one of my friends from high school.  Her and her husband were taking a Road Trip, and had Memphis as one of the stops.  We picked them up from the hotel and headed off on a mini sight-seeing trip.  We drove by Sun Studios, the Civil Rights Museum, and then headed downtown.  We had Rendezvous for dinner (delicious), visited Silky O’Sullivans (for the goats, of course), walked around Beale, watched Richard Johnston, and listened to various bands.  We dropped them back off, and headed home for a good night’s sleep.

When we arrived home on Saturday night, I realized that my ankles were swollen!!  Yikes!!  I know it had a lot to do with the hot weather, lots of walking, and of course the fact that I am over 7 months pregnant!!  Waking up Sunday morning most of the swelling was gone!  I was very happy!  Some days are worse than others, but I know it is just a side effect of my body preparing for the little guy!

Now, you are completely caught up… This weekend we have a 4-D ultrasound!!  They make us a DVD of the ultrasound, and print a bunch of pictures, so I will make a special post dedicated to it!!  Hope everyone has a wonderful rest of the week!!!

One Response to “I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints…”

  1. Courtney Says:

    Yay! I made the blog.

    And can I express how happy am I to know you guys took pictures of the tractor ride. Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

