Happy Mother’s Day!

Today we honor those who gave birth to us, raised us, and made us the people we are today.

Most people have heard the quote “It takes a village to raise a child”, I can honestly say that I believe that whole heartily.  There is no way Paul or I would have become the people we are today without the help of numerous wonderful women. 

The first woman I would like to thank is, of course, my Mom.  She was an incredible person, beautiful, funny, sincere, and the epitome of the type of Mom I hope to be.  She was taken away from the world far to early, but with the help of pictures and family video, she will live on forever.  With the help of some of her closest friends, family, and  those who knew her, her memory will live forever.  I know that they will help my kids know the type of person she was, and the type of Grandma she would have been, if given the chance.  Mommy, I love you and miss you every single day.

Me and my Mom 1986

Me and my Mom 1986

At the Beach 1984

At the Beach 1984

Paul’s Mom is next…  She is an absolutely wonderful woman, creative, kind, beautiful, welcoming and loving.  I have loved getting to know her, and can’t thank her enough for raising Paul to be such an amazing Man.  Her dedication to her family is apparent, and something that I truly admire.  I can’t wait for her to share in the next step in our lives as we raise our son.  Mama, thank you for being so amazing, we love you so very much.

Paul and his Mama - Wedding Day 2007

Paul and his Mama - Wedding Day 2007

At the WWII Memorial in DC 2006

At the WWII Memorial in DC 2006

Next we have Ilene, my stepmom.  Looking back I realize that I probably was not the most pleasant teenager (although, how many are?), and it was rough when Ilene first came into my life.  I can say that Ilene is an educated, beautiful, considerate woman, and I respect her a great deal.  We have gotten closer over the past couple of years, and I know with time that closeness will continue and grow.  Thank you for everything you have done for me, and continue to do for me.  You are greatly appreciated.

Ilene and I at my High School Graduation 2001

Ilene and I at my High School Graduation 2001

Lastly, Paul and I would like to thank our Grandmothers…  Although they each have played different roles in our lives, they mean more to us than words can ever describe. 

Grandma – Thank you for stepping in and raising us when Mommy couldn’t.  Your love and support has helped mold me, and helped me to become the woman I am today.  I can’t wait for you to be a “great” Grandma to my son.  He has no idea how lucky he is.  Paul and I love you very much, and are very lucky to have you in our lives.

Mom – You are such a wonderful woman.  You are strong willed, loving, and an incredibly caring person.  Paul and I consider ourselves blessed to have you in our lives.  We can’t wait for you to meet our son in August, get to share stories/memories with him, and make plenty of new memories.  We love you.

MiMi – You are an amazing woman.  You are strong, loving, and an incredible influence.  Paul and I consider ourselves extremely lucky to have you in our lives.  We can’t wait for you to meet our son in August, and get to share in his life.  We love you.

Grandma, Me, Paul, Mom, Mimi - Wedding Day 2007

Grandma, Me, Paul, Mom, Mimi - Wedding Day 2007

To all the women in our lives, we love and appreciate you.  Thank you for raising us, supporting us, and loving us no matter what.

Today also marks a special day for me, it is my first official Mother’s Day.  Although the baby isn’t here yet, I am technically a Mom, helping grow our son.  To our Baby Boy Berger – I hope I can be half the Mother that all of the women mentioned above were.  If I can manage that, you will be one blessed little boy, and loved more than you could ever imagine.  I love you so much, and want you to be anything that you want to be.  Your Daddy and I will do everything in our power to support and love you as much as we were supported and loved growing up.  We love you.

To all the Mother’s out there, Happy Mother’s Day.  We hope that you had a relaxing day, and were able to do something that you really enjoy.

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    OK Shari, tears are in my eyes…this was so touching, seeing a picture of your mom and you, I can’t even imagine….and then all that you said about all the MOMS in your life, that was super sweet. Love you, Shari!! You are truly a very special person and I just know God has truly blessed you in many ways!! You are and will be the most incredible mom!

  2. Susan Huff Says:

    Aw Shari, I just read your blog for the first time and def brought tears to my eyes too. Seeing the pic of you and your mama brought back the memories… forest ridge, SMS… you are such a strong person. It’s great to see you so happy. Congratulations to you- I’m sure you cannot wait to hold your bundle of joy. It’s a magical moment. Blessings to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

