A simple life and I’ll be okay, here in Small Town USA

Paul and I had quite an eventful weekend, with lots of family coming into town.  It all started mid-day on Friday.  Paul’s parents, aunt, uncle, and grandma all came into town for a wedding.  We spent the afternoon chit-chatting, had some sandwich’s, and watched the guys put in a new outside electrical outlet.  (I wish I had thought to take pictures of them drilling through the wall to connect an internal outlet…  It was amusing, but looks great now!)  I would like to thank Doodah and Uncle Tommy for the help!!

Friday night was the rehersal dinner and then the wedding was Saturday evening.  Paul and I were invited to the rehersal dinner on Friday night, and I was really excited to wear a dress that my grandma had found (on sale) at Motherhood Maternity. 

22 wks 2 days

22 wks 2 days

Saturday the family came over after breakfast to help us do a couple more things around the house, again a BIG thank you goes out to Uncle Tommy and Doodah for all the help!!  The big ticket item for Saturday was the hanging of a ceiling fan in what will be the nursery.  There will big a post just on the transformation of the room later on….

Sunday Paul’s parents, grandma, sister, brother in law, and nephew came to visit.  Paul’s sister is also pregnant, she is 13 weeks.  We decided it would be nice to have a picture of the two pregnant ladies…

Susan (13wks), Shari (22 1/2 wks)

Susan (13wks), Shari (22 1/2 wks)

Then we added in Sweetie (Paul’s Mom) and Mom (Paul’s Grandma)…

Sweetie, Susan, Shari, Mom

Sweetie, Susan, Shari, Mom

Meanwhile, Paul’s nephew Bowen was practicing his fishing technique in our “alligator” pond.  I wish there were really fish for him to catch in there…  We will work on that for next year!

Preparing to cast

Preparing to cast

Following through

Following through

Reeling it in

Reeling it in

I think we may have a Fisherman in the family…

After the pictures were taken, and since the fish weren’t biting, we headed down to Tunica, MS for dinner at Paula Deen’s buffett!  It was delicious, as always, and then the adults hit the slots.  Some played, some people watched, and then headed home.  Monday was back to reality… 

This coming weekend I have a Sorority Founders’ Day luncheon on Saturday, which will be followed by a home cooked (by Paul) birthday dinner for me!!  Wooo Hooo!!  I’m not exactly sure what is on the menu yet, but I have requested that he make his coconut shrimp, which are absolutely delicious!  I will make sure to take pictures!

I do have pictures from dinner tonight (Paul’s Drunk Chicken), which will be in a post tomorrow…  Check back!!  In case I forget, Happy Bachelorette Weekend to Lara (Paul’s sister)!!  I hope you have a wonderful time celebrating with friends, and wish everyone safe travels!!!

Since this has been a Paul picture less post, I will leave you with this…

An oldie but a goodie...

An oldie but a goodie...

One Response to “A simple life and I’ll be okay, here in Small Town USA”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Isn’t my grandpa the best!!! I love him, (aka Uncle Tommy). I am so glad they came to visit and help you guys out with stuff, they are great people!! =)

Leave a Reply

