Step 4: The second year begins, and then there were three…

Right after we got finished celebrating our first year of marriage it was time for Thanksgiving!!  Paul’s usual family Thanksgiving festivities were moved to a location outside of Little Rock, which prevented us from attending.  Paul’s parents were still heading to the big family celebration, but stopped to spend Thanksgiving with us! 

I was super excited to make Thanksgiving dinner, with multiple conversations with my grandma (preparing for the meal), I felt very comfortable with making my first official Thanksgiving.  On the menu: Turkey, Honey Baked Ham, Sweet Potatoes, Green Bean Casserole, Dressing, Gravy, Cranberry Sauce and Rolls.

The Table... Set with my china! I even made placecards!!

The Table... Set with my china! I even made place cards!!

The Feast!!

The Feast!!

Next it was time to start decorating for Christmas!!  Yay!  I love decorating for the holidays, it makes me really happy!  We had to get a new Christmas Tree this year, since ours was a puny 6 ft, now we have a 7 1/2 ft pre-lit tree!!  We also got a skinny tree for our foyer, I decorated it with chocolate brown, purple, cream, and orange balls!!  I got a really cute shower curtain set for our guest bathroom! 

Our Christmas Tree

Our Christmas Tree

Dining Room

Dining Room

Our Christmas Card Picture (notice my foyer tree we moved it for the picture!)

Our Christmas Card Picture (notice my foyer tree we moved it for the picture!)

 

That is how year #2 of marriage began for us… but everything was about to change, FOREVER.  Paul and I had always talked about having a family.  I have always envisioned myself as a stay-at-home mom, class mom, making cupcakes and hosting play dates.  (Sounds kind of old fashioned, but I love it!)  Paul is the only boy, so we have to have a son in order for the last name to live on.  We knew one day we would have a family, we just didn’t know it would happen so soon!!

In the middle of December I started suspecting that I might be pregnant, just a feeling I was having.  One afternoon I decided I would go buy a home pregnancy test and take it, just to satisfy my curiosity.  Not long after, I was staring at a plus sign.  Whoa.  So, I took another, just to make sure.  Another plus sign. Whoa again.  Paul got home from work a little bit later.  I casually mentioned that he might want to look at my stomach the way it was now, because it wouldn’t be that way for long.  He looked kind of confused, and then it clicked.  He asked “Are we having a baby?”  I started crying, and responded “Yup”.  We hugged, I cried, and he just kind of looked shocked (I don’t think the shock has worn off yet). 

We decided since it was so close to Christmas that we would wait until we were with our Parents/Family to tell them all the good news.  Christmas morning we traveled to Paul’s sisters house to meet everyone, and celebrate.  After all the presents were opened, Paul and I pulled out one last box and handed it to his parents.  We said that Santa had delivered this present to our house.  They opened it up, and inside were baby bibs, that said “I love Grandma, I love Grandpa” .  It took about 2 seconds and they realized what was going on, and then everyone was crying and hugging and super excited!! 

The day after Christmas we headed to my dad’s house in Northern Virginia.  We got there in the evening, my dad, stepmom, stepbrothers, sister and her boyfriend were all at the house.  My brother was still at work, but I couldn’t wait.  I handed my dad and step mom the box with their bibs, and told them Santa had left this at our house.  They opened the gift and my step mom got it right away, she jumped up and gave us big hugs.  My dad just sat and stared at the bibs.  He said, Pap-Pap is a grandpa, I’m not.  Then he said, hold on, you’re pregnant, I nodded through my tears.  He just said, I’m too young…  We laughed and hugged.  It took about a day to sink in for him.  The next morning we told my grandparents.  My grandma just about fainted!!  She was SOO excited. 

We had our first doctors appointment in early January.  They determined that my due date is August 19th.  In other words, I get to carry this baby through the heat of a Memphis summer… Yay! (Not an enthusiastic yay, more like a sarcastic yay!)  As of yesterday I am officially 16 wks. 

Now the world knows… Paul and I are having a baby… And that is the reason for the blog!  For those of you who know us personally, you know that Paul gave me his crazy last name, although I don’t have much room to talk, my maiden name wasn’t much better!!!  As we started telling friends and family that we were having a baby, they would respond, a Baby Berger (shortening the last name).  It just kind of stuck!  So, that became the name of our blog, the no onion part, that is all Paul!!

Now for what I know you have been waiting for… The belly picture!!

16 wks

16 wks

Baby at 12 wks

Baby at 12 wks

**If you can’t see anything in the picture of the sonogram, don’t feel bad.  Before looking at the screen in the office myself I had no idea what I was looking at!**

I will leave you with this final picture.  Paul and I were at the mall last night and walked by a store with this in the front window.  We couldn’t resist.  I will tell you we got a GREAT deal on it (far less than what they go for online).  Paul can’t wait to put the little one in it walking around town!!  (Let’s just pray we don’t get beat up, this is Volunteer Land!)  I am also thinking about 18 yrs down the road when our kids have grown up loving Uof A.  What if they decide that is the college they want to go too… Out of state tuition… Yikes!!  Oh well, it’s just a stroller… right?

Wooo Pig Sooooie!

Wooo Pig Sooooie!

4 Responses to “Step 4: The second year begins, and then there were three…”

  1. Courtney Says:

    Congratulations!! What an exciting time 🙂

  2. Courtney Says:

    I’ll still adore Baby Berger despite him/her being raised a Razorback fan.

    Go Vols!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    OMG, Shari that is the greatest story of how you found out and told everyone…..I teared up!! I am so incredibly excited for you guys, you both will be terrific parents!! LOVE YOU!!! And I so can’t wait to meet “baby berger”… =)

  4. Amy Says:

    Please dont tell Zack that they make Razorback strollers… I prefer our princess stroller lol

Leave a Reply

