Step 2: Boy asks Girl to Marry him…

When Paul and I met he was serving in the Navy in Virginia Beach.  So I knew from the beginning that he could choose to be a “lifer”, or he would one day get out.  Knowing he didn’t have ties to Virginia Beach, except for his friends, I knew that he might not stay.  Talk about scary… especially for the girl who had never lived outside of Virginia!! 

When Paul decided that he would be getting out of the Navy in August 2007, we had the “conversation”.  He said he wanted to apply for a job with the FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) continuing in the air traffic control field he had started in the military.  I knew that this meant a move would be involved.  I was settled in with my friends, a great job, and was happy in Virginia Beach.  I told him that I loved him to death, but didn’t feel comfortable giving up everything to follow him without a firm commitment.  And that was the end of the that.  I knew if he felt the same way and wanted me along for the journey, the answer would be clear. 

March 3, 2007 Paul came home from work around 3.  He told me to hop in the car we were going for a drive.  This was not unusual for us, we often took drives to the beach, or around town.  He drove to a city park near our house and said we were going for a walk.  It was a nice day, so I got out of the car and we started to walk.  We walked to the middle of the field in the middle of the park and Paul got down on one knee.  He said all sorts of wonderful things, and pulled out the most beautiful ring, and asked me to be his wife!!  Of course I said yes!!! 

Something that had been important to me, from the time I was a little girl, was that the boy I married called my Dad to make sure it was okay.  On the way back to the car I asked Paul if he had talked to my Dad, and he said “Your Dad and my parents wish us nothing but the best!”  At that moment I loved him more than I thought was possible.  He had made all my dreams come true.

We decided to plan the wedding for that fall, knowing that Paul could get hired anytime after August and we could be moving!  Here are my two favorite engagement pictures:

On the Boardwalk with our bikes!

On the Boardwalk with our bikes!

On the pier

On the pier

We got married November 10, 2007.  It was the happiest day of my life (to that point).  The day was perfect, we were surrounded by family and friends, and got to share with them the joy of our wedding!!  Here are some of our favorite shots from the day!

First Kiss

First Kiss

Mr. and Mrs.

Mr. and Mrs.

Our Family

Our Family

Toasts and Cake

Toasts and Cake

Calling the Hogs, a true Arkansas Tradition!

Calling the Hogs, a true Arkansas Tradition!

Some of our wonderful friends and family at the reception!

Some of our wonderful friends and family at the reception!

 

Overall it was a fabulous start to what would become a crazy first year of marriage… But all of that comes in Step 3…

3 Responses to “Step 2: Boy asks Girl to Marry him…”

  1. Mike Slov Says:

    Its so funny i’ve actually read both blogs… the funniest thing I remember when daddy was talkin to paul on the phone, we were headin out to grandma’s house for some NASCAR/food… daddy started crying in the car and I was like whats up? he was like Paul was wondering if he could have my blessing to marry your sister. I was like sweeeetttttt no longer part of the fam hahahahah… he just gave me a death stare. We get over to grandma’s place and grandma is crying and P-Pap said, “I hope to god he doesnt do it during the race” which paul ended up doing, grandma is going crazy and P-pap was like “dammit paul” (jokingly of course, and he started crying). Such a funny yet wonderful day. ill never forget the day my sister got engaged to a great guy.

  2. Brenda Says:

    I’m loving it more and more, I’m addicted, I can’t wait to read the next step, Brenda

  3. Christen Says:

    I’m so happy for you both! Can’t wait to meet the baby.
    love,
    christen

Leave a Reply

